## MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION FOR NASHVILLE COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 99, WASHINGTON, JEFFERSON AND PERRY COUNTIES, HELD AT THE SCHOOL BUILDING IN THE CITY OF NASHVILLE, ILLINOIS ON MAY 16, 2023, AT 6:30 P.M.

The Board of Education for Nashville Community High School District No. 99 met in regular session on Tuesday evening, May 16, 2023, at the High School Building in the City of Nashville, Illinois pursuant to the rules of the Board of Education.

Upon roll call the following answered present:

Eric Behrmann Present
Zach Kabat Present
Heather Maschhoff Present
Jeremy Bultmann Present
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Present
Keith Suedmeyer Present

Also present were Superintendent Brad Turner, Principal Mark Begando, Matt Meinert representing the teachers' association and the media.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to approve the consent agenda, minutes, payment of bills, and financial reports, as presented.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Eric Behrmann to accept the Treasurer's report.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

Principal Mark Begando gave a monthly update on the attendance and discipline.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Eric Behrmann to approve the second reading and adoption of board policy updates from PRESS Issue 111.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to approve the overnight and out-of-state trip requests, as presented.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting 
$$\underline{6}$$
 Yea  $\underline{0}$  Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Jeremy Bultmann to approve the bid from Matecki Masonry to complete the block work on Assembly Hall.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Heather Maschhoff to approve the NCHS Student Handbook for 2023-2024.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Heather Maschhoff to approve the status of closed session minutes and to destroy closed session audio recordings exceeding 18 months.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting 6 Yea 0 Nay

The President declared the motion carried.

Superintendent Brad Turner announced that an Amended Budget Hearing will take place on June 20, 2023 at 6:30 p.m. It was also announced that the 2024 Graduation will be on Sunday May 21, 2024 at 2:00 p.m. The board meeting dates for the 2023-24 school year were handed out to the Board members.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to adjourn to closed session at 6:52 p.m. to discuss and review closed session minutes, and to discuss the employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of employees.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to reconvene to open session at 7:01 p.m.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Heather Maschhoff to hire Lucas Morgan as a music teacher for the 23-24 school year.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Eric Behrmann Yea Zach Kabat Yea Heather Maschhoff Yea Jeremy Bultmann Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Keith Suedmeyer Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to accept Leigh Ann White's resignation as Assistant Drama Director.

The board members voted as follows:

Voting 6 Yea 0 Nav

The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Zach Kabat and seconded by Eric Behrmann to hire Calista Harris as Assistant Drama Director.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows: Eric Behrmann Yea Zach Kabat Yea Heather Maschhoff Yea Jeremy Bultmann Yea Randy Schwartzkopf Absent Shawn Cook Yea Keith Suedmeyer Yea The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Heather Maschhoff and seconded by Zach Kabat to approve Stefanie Bauza and Brad Turner as District Grant Coordinators.

Upon roll call the members voted as follows:

Eric Behrmann Yea
Zach Kabat Yea
Heather Maschhoff Yea
Jeremy Bultmann Yea
Randy Schwartzkopf Absent
Shawn Cook Yea
Keith Suedmeyer Yea
The President declared the motion carried.

It was moved by Eric Behrmann and	seconded by Heather Maschhoff to adjourn
the meeting.	
The board members voted as for	ollows:
Voting <u>6</u> Yea	
<u>0</u> Nay	
The President declared the mo	tion carried.
The meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.	
PRESIDENT SE	ECRETARY